Bend Toward the Sun: A Novel (Paperback)

Bend Toward the Sun: A Novel By Jen Devon Cover Image
$16.99
Available For In-Store or Curbside Pickup
In Store
1 on hand, as of Jul 15 12:25pm
(FICTION-ROMANCE)

Description


Perfect for fans of Every Summer After and Lucy Score, Bend Toward the Sun is an angsty slow-burn romance between two complicated, imperfect people–and a love story you’ll never forget.

“A steamy romance about humans’ ability to grow and heal.”—Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author of Love, Theoretically

Guarded, self-reliant botanist Rowan McKinnon doesn’t believe in love. With her new PhD, two steadfast best friends, and the occasional no-strings sex, she’s convinced she has everything she needs. When an academic setback throws her off course, she takes on the restoration of an overgrown vineyard to re-center herself and her career.

Dr. Harrison Brady is in an emotional freefall. Since losing a patient, he no longer believes he can keep people safe. Hoping rural sunshine and the hard labor of renovation work will help him heal, Harry heads home to Pennsylvania, where his family has just bought a long-abandoned vineyard.

The last thing Rowan and Harry expect is each other. Despite deeply different views on life and love, their chemistry is explosive, their connection magnetic. Even though their time at the vineyard is only temporary, Harry is compelled to explore the undeniable pull between them. Rowan is committed to protecting her heart at all costs.

But some things are too powerful–and too right–to be ignored.

“Intoxicatingly sensual and undeniably sexy.” – Mazey Eddings, author of The Plus One

Don’t miss Jen Devon’s sizzling second-chance romance Right Where We Left Us!

About the Author


Jen Devon is a lifelong lover of love stories. She writes vivid, cinematic romances about imperfect people finding their perfect match. A former ecology academic and adjunct professor, she now works in the Internet tech industry and dreams of writing full-time. An avid gardener, photographer, gamer, and unapologetic nerd, she’s also a mom of five (three kids, two rescue mutts) and lives in central Ohio with her engineer husband.

Praise For…


"All my favorite tropes in a heart-warming, sensual, beautifully written package. Jen Devon has given us a steamy romance about humans’ ability to grow and heal, and about the power of love. I cannot wait to laugh, cry, lose myself in her future books." - Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author of The Love Hypothesis

"This is a book to be savored. Bend Toward the Sun is a lushly drawn portrait of two people with a magnetic, soul-deep connection, wrapped up in a gorgeous story of hope and healing. It’s the kind of romance that made me fall in love with the genre all over again—and I never wanted it to end. Consider me a Jen Devon fan for life." - Rachel Lynn Solomon, New York Times bestselling author

“Devon’s debut, Bend Toward the Sun, is a gorgeous love story full of lyrical writing and raw emotion. I fell in love with these two broken characters who begin to heal one another. Definitely an author to watch!” -Jennifer Probst, New York Times & USA Today Bestselling Author, of Our Italian Summer

"Sometimes a book comes along that contains everything you want: romance, tenderness, humor, passion, and a hint of sadness that makes the other emotions feel earned. BEND TOWARD THE SUN hits all the perfect notes." - Trish Doller, author of Float Plan

"An achingly beautiful romance between two broken people struggling to heal each other's hearts and a neglected vineyard over a season. Soul satisfying, sensual, and unforgettable." - Libby Hubscher, author of Meet Me in Paradise

“Intoxicatingly sensual and undeniably sexy, Bend Toward the Sun stole my heart from page one and never let go. With tender explorations of passion, mental health, and belonging, this book has a permanent place in my heart and on my bookshelf.” - Mazey Eddings, author of A Brush with Love

"Sweeping and lush, Bend Toward the Sun is one of my favorite kinds of books, where the setting is just as integral to the story as the main characters. Getting to know the warm, lovable Brady family feels like a hug, and I am thoroughly annoyed I can't visit their vineyard in real life. Harry and Rowen's road to happily-ever-after as they each battle their own demons is deeply emotional and hard-won." – Anita Kelly, author of Love & Other Disasters

“A smart and riveting love story about two imperfect people who may just be perfect for each other, Bend Toward the Sun is a delicious debut. Jen Devon knows her way around the human heart.” -Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Everything Must Go

“A breathtaking, beautiful debut! Rich with emotion and unforgettable characters in a lush setting so vividly described that you’ll long to visit!”
- Priscilla Oliveras, USA Today bestselling author of Anchored Hearts

"Bend Toward the Sun is an inspiring tale of love that sweeps you into a world you'll never want to leave, with achingly beautiful scenery and characters who take root in your heart." - Brooke Burroughs, author of The Marriage Code

"Jen Devon has crafted a masterpiece that is as soul nourishing as it is romantic. An emotional story about two people with undeniable chemistry, yet opposing views on love, Bend Toward the Sun is unapologetically vulnerable and beautifully complex. This book will make your heart ache and give you hope in the way only the best romances can." - Sonia Hartl, author of Heartbreak For Hire

“Hands down, one of the best contemporary romances I’ve read in years.” – Elizabeth Everett, author of A Lady’s Formula for Love and A Perfect Equation

"Devon breaks hearts and puts them back together again...[a] tear-jerking debut." -PW

"Devon’s debut happens to be not just one of the best of contemporary romance, but one of the best books of the year." - Paste Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250822000
ISBN-10: 1250822009
Publisher: St. Martin's Griffin
Publication Date: August 9th, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English