If Something Happens to Me: A Novel (Hardcover)

If Something Happens to Me: A Novel By Alex Finlay Cover Image
$28.00
Available For In-Store or Curbside Pickup
In Store
1 on hand, as of Jun 15 9:00pm
(FICTION-MYSTERY/DETECTIVE)

Description


From “one of the genre’s most exciting voices” (E! News) comes one of the year’s most-anticipated thrillers.

For the past five years, Ryan Richardson has relived that terrible night. The car door ripping open. The crushing blow to the head. The hands yanking him from the vehicle. His girlfriend Ali’s piercing scream as she is taken.

With no trace of Ali or the car, a cloud of suspicion hangs over Ryan. But with no proof and a good lawyer, he’s never charged, though that doesn’t matter to the podcasters and internet trolls. Now, Ryan has changed his last name, and entered law school. He's put his past behind him.

Until, on a summer trip abroad to Italy with his law-school classmates, Ryan gets a call from his father: Ali's car has finally been found, submerged in a lake in his hometown. Inside are two dead men and a cryptic note with five words written on the envelope in Ali’s handwriting: If something happens to me…

Then, halfway around the world, the unthinkable happens: Ryan sees the man who has haunted his dreams since that night.

As Ryan races from the rolling hills of Tuscany, to a rural village in the UK, to the glittering streets of Paris in search of the truth, he has no idea that his salvation may lie with a young sheriff’s deputy in Kansas working her first case, and a mobster in Philadelphia who’s experienced tragedy of his own.

In classic Alex Finlay form, If Something Happens to Me is told by several distinct, compelling characters whose paths intersect, detonating into a story of twist after pulse-pounding twist. The novel cements Finlay as one of the leading thriller writers today.

About the Author


ALEX FINLAY is the author of several critically acclaimed novels, including the 2021 breakout Every Last Fear and the 2022 Goodreads Choice Nominee for Best Mystery & Thriller The Night Shift. His work regularly appears on best-of-the-year lists and has been translated into twenty-two languages, and all of his novels have been optioned for film or television. Every Last Fear is in development for a major limited series. Alex lives in Washington, D.C., and Virginia.

Praise For…


One of Goodreads’ “Readers’ Most Anticipated Mysteries & Thrillers of 2024”
One of The Nerd Daily’s “The Most Anticipated 2024 Book Releases”
One of Novel Suspects’ “Our Most-Anticipated Crime Fiction Novels of 2024”
One of The Real Book Spy’s “2024 Reading Guide”
One of SFF Addicts Podcast’s “Most-Anticipated Reads of 2024”

“A tightly coiled spine tingle . . . As in Finlay’s previous novels, relentless pacing, impressive characterizations, and the author’s knack for surprise combine to produce top-shelf entertainment. This is a smart, unpredictable winner.”—Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“The story jumps back and forth between several characters, leaving readers guessing as to their connection, and there is a twist about halfway through the story that even the most fervent mystery fans will find surprising. Finlay serves up another compelling, tension-filled thriller, perfect for fans of Kate Moretti and the crime-writing duo of Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen.”—Booklist

“The twists are nonstop . . . Finlay’s name on the cover guarantees a great read, and this one will end up on many best-of-the-year lists.”—First Clue

“Finlay crafts characters that are a pleasure to read about, mysteries that captivate, and novels that are as exhilarating as they are intricate. This blend makes for an invariably exceptional reading experience with his books, and If Something Happens to Me adds another distinguished accolade to his already remarkable repertoire.”—Mystery & Suspense Magazine

“Alex Finlay has outdone himself with If Something Happens to Me—a riveting thriller with a twist that you won't see coming. I loved this book.”—Laura Dave, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Last Thing He Told Me

“A brilliant and taut action-packed thriller that begs to be read in one sitting. I know I did If Something Happens to Me is perfectly plotted, nail-bitingly intense, and incredibly compelling. Finlay proves once again that he is a master of his craft.”—Jeneva Rose, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Marriage

If Something Happens to Me shows why Alex Finlay is one of the leading thriller writers today. Pulse-pounding, layered, and impossible to put down. Finlay—the master of twists—has outdone himself.”—Sarah Pekkanen, New York Times bestselling author of Gone Tonight

“Told at a breakneck pace, peppered with whiplash twists that will make you question every premise, If Something Happens to Me is easily one of the best thrillers of the year. Alex Finlay has already established himself as a titan in the thriller world; this novel may be his best yet.”—David Ellis, New York Times bestselling author of Look Closer

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250863799
ISBN-10: 1250863791
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: May 28th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English