It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth (Paperback)

It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth By Zoe Thorogood, Zoe Thorogood (By (artist)) Cover Image
By Zoe Thorogood, Zoe Thorogood (By (artist))
$12.99
Currently Not Available In Store - Usually Available for Shipping, In-Store Pickup, or Curbside Pickup in 1-5 Days

Description


A provacative graphic memoir perfect for fans of Allie Brosh's Solutions and Other Problems

- Thorogood is the winner of the 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award
- Nominated for two 2023 Eisner Awards in the Best Graphic Memoir and Best Writer/Artist categories
- Winner of the 2023 Ringo Award in the Best Graphic Novel category
- Included in Forbes' "The Best Graphic Novels of 2022" list


The 2023 Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award winning cartoonist, Zoe Thorogood (writer and artist of The Impending Blindness of Billie Scott, artist on Joe Hill's Rain graphic novelisation), records six months of her own life as it falls apart in a desperate attempt to put it back together again in the only way she knows how. It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth is an intimate and meta-narrative look into the life of a selfish artist who must create for her own survival. A poignant and original depiction of a young woman's struggle with mental health—through the ups and downs of anxiety, depression, and imposter syndrome—as she forges a promising career in sequential art and finds herself along the way.

Select praise for It's Lonely at the Centre of the Earth:

"Thorogood elevates the dark material with her expressive use of the comics medium and the urgency of her voice. One to watch for the 2020s." —Forbes

“This has the force of a fist punching through the page." —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

“Thorogood taps into sensation and the way that it is experienced in a way that is unlike anything I’ve seen before. It’s astonishing.” —AIPT

"Tragic, funny and disturbing." —Connecticut Public Radio/NPR

"Unflinchingly stark and personal." —The Guardian UK

About the Author


Zoe Thorogood is a comic creator from the UK. She debuted in 2020 with The Impending Blindness Of Billie Scott. She has also illustrated HAHA and most recently JOE HILL'S RAIN. Her multiple award-winning auto-bio-graphic novel is IT'S LONELY AT THE CENTRE OF THE EARTH from Image Comics.

Zoe Thorogood is a comic creator from the UK. She debuted in 2020 with The Impending Blindness Of Billie Scott. She has also illustrated HAHA and most recently JOE HILL'S RAIN. Her multiple award-winning auto-bio-graphic novel is IT'S LONELY AT THE CENTRE OF THE EARTH from Image Comics.

Praise For…


Forbes' "Best Graphic Novels of 2022" list

"Thorogood elevates the dark material with her expressive use of the comics medium and the urgency of her voice. One to watch for the 2020s." —Forbes

"Unflinchingly stark and personal." —The Guardian UK

"Tragic, funny and disturbing." —Connecticut Public Radio/NPR

"Already pushing herself to new limits, Thorogood more than delivers on the promise of her debut. This has the force of a fist punching through the page." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A wondrous achievement as both an autobiographical discussion and as a piece of the comics medium. The skill and ingenuity of her visual storytelling approach is staggering and awe-inspiring. Thorogood’s courageous honesty is supported by her hilarious deadpan humor and then tied all together by her absolutely insane artistic vision. Centre of the Earth is an important work as a discussion of trauma, depression, and the hope that can keep one moving forward. This is an absolute must-read, and without a doubt one of the best comic creations of recent years." —Monkeys Fighting Robots
Product Details
ISBN: 9781534323865
ISBN-10: 1534323864
Publisher: Image Comics
Publication Date: November 15th, 2022
Pages: 196
Language: English