The Last Counterfeiter: The Story of Fake Money, Real Art, and Forging the Impossible $100 Bill (Paperback)

The Last Counterfeiter: The Story of Fake Money, Real Art, and Forging the Impossible $100 Bill By Jason Kersten Cover Image
$18.99
Currently Not Available In Store - Usually Available for Shipping, In-Store Pickup, or Curbside Pickup in 1-5 Days

Description


The true story of the mastermind counterfeiter who forged millions, replicated the impossible 1996 note, dodged the Secret Service, and healed his broken family.


When Art
Williams Jr.'s father abandoned the family and his bipolar mother lost her
mind, a life of crime in Chicago quickly claimed him. Parking meter theft led
to robbing drug dealers before Art fatefully met a man nicknamed DaVinci who taught
him the skill of counterfeiting money. After just a few years, Art would print
millions of counterfeit bills, selling them to criminal organizations, all
while trying to raise a family on the side.

Art's
greatest challenge arose when the Treasury Department released the 1996 note,
the most intricate and secure bill ever created. Between painstakingly
perfecting a new hundred-dollar bill to bypass the naked eye and security
measures alike, Art was slipping by the Secret Service hunting him, and searching
for his long-lost father, a path that ultimately led to his undoing.

Prison may
have been the end, especially as Art Jr. found himself behind bars sharing a
cell with his own son, but with the same creativity and ambition that locked
him up, Art reinvented himself as a professional artist. Art's unbelievable
journey extends beyond a life of crime to one of second chances, healing family
wounds, and ultimately, triumph.

Fans of Catch Me If You Can and The Art Thief won't want to miss this unforgettable caper story.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781635768411
ISBN-10: 1635768411
Publisher: Diversion Books
Publication Date: March 26th, 2024
Pages: 336
Language: English