How to Dance: A Novel (Paperback)

How to Dance: A Novel By Jason B. Dutton Cover Image
$18.99
Available For In-Store or Curbside Pickup
In Store
6 on hand, as of Apr 18 5:35am
(FICTION-ROMANCE)

Description


Opposites attract and sparks fly as a passionate dancer and a ladies’ man who's given up on love fall for each other—one tango at a time—in this charming debut romance perfect for fans of Talia Hibbert and Blair Fell.

Nick Freeman works hard as the star of the weekly karaoke night at his bar, hoping his singing talent, quick wit, and winning smile will distract from his cerebral palsy. But one night at the bar, watching a professional dancer light up the dance floor with her boyfriend, he realizes that entertaining strangers will never give him a fraction of the joy he sees in this woman’s eyes.

When Hayley Burke notices Nick’s reaction to her dancing, she urges him to acknowledge his passion and try a few moves himself—only to be mortified when she realizes Nick can only walk with the aid of a metal walker.

As Nick and Hayley fumble through misunderstanding into friendship, Hayley begins to enjoy Nick’s company more than that of her self-centered boyfriend. Nick tries to fight his attraction to Hayley, believing she deserves a dance partner who can move like her boyfriend does—but as Hayley and Nick continue to find their rhythm together, she shows him that “dancing” is about so much more than moving your feet. 

In this fresh-voiced and utterly charming debut novel, Jason B. Dutton takes readers on a swoon-filled journey as two lost souls learn that neither physical disability nor emotional scars disqualify us from finding beauty, validation, and love amidst the chaos of being human.

About the Author


Jason B. Dutton lives in Columbus, Ohio, where he does all he can to nurture his lifelong love of song, dance, and books. When he’s not writing, Jason loves to watch and passionately discuss movies, particularly anything involving Spider-Man. He can often be found singing, whether bystanders want him to or not, and as a writer with cerebral palsy, he delights in finding the humor, beauty, and possibility in life with a disability.

Praise For…


Praise for How to Dance:
“A refreshing and romantic treat.”
Publishers Weekly

“A charming novel that will keep readers glued to the page.”
Library Journal

“This is [Dutton's] debut novel and it’s a winner.”
Red Carpet Crash

How to Dance is an absolute delight! Jason B. Dutton delivers a refreshing take on love, disability, and self-acceptance. I had a smile on my face the whole time I was reading—Nick and Hayley's connection sizzled with wit, tension, and depth. This heartwarming romance hit all the right notes and stayed with me long after I turned the final page!”
—Amy Ewing, New York Times bestselling author

“[A] sweet and satisfying debut… This poignant, warm hug of a novel shows us that dancing is often more than what we do with our bodies—it’s about finding the right rhythm with the perfect partner, and letting our hearts take the lead.”
—Jen Devon, author of Bend Toward the Sun
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639106370
ISBN-10: 1639106375
Publisher: Alcove Press
Publication Date: February 6th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English