The Art of Betrayal: A Kate Hamilton Mystery (Hardcover)

The Art of Betrayal: A Kate Hamilton Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
Available In-Store
In Store
1 on hand, as of Aug 3 5:43am
(FICTION-MYSTERY/DETECTIVE)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the A Kate Hamilton Mystery series.

Description


In Connie Berry's third Kate Hamilton mystery, American antique dealer Kate Hamilton's spring is cut short when a body turns up at the May Fair pageant.

Spring is a magical time in England--bluebells massing along the woodland paths, primrose and wild thyme dotting the meadows. Antiques dealer Kate Hamilton is spending the month of May in the Suffolk village of Long Barston, enjoying precious time with Detective Inspector Tom Mallory. While attending the May Fair, the annual pageant based on a well-known Anglo-Saxon folktale, a body turns up in the middle of the festivities.

Kate is even more shocked when she learns the murder took place in antiquity shop owner Ivor Tweedy's stockroom and a valuable Chinese pottery jar that she had been tasked with finding a buyer for has been stolen. Ivor may be ruined. Insurance won't cover a fraction of the loss.

As Tom leads the investigation, Kate begins to see puzzling parallels between the murder and local legends. The more she learns, the more convinced she is that the solution to both crimes lies in the misty depths of Anglo-Saxon history and a generations-old pattern of betrayal. It's up to Kate to unravel this Celtic knot of lies and deception to save Ivor's business.

About the Author


Connie Berry is the author of the Kate Hamilton Mysteries, set in the UK and featuring an American antiques dealer with a gift for solving crimes. Like her protagonist, Connie was raised by antiques dealers who instilled in her a passion for history, fine art, and travel. During college she studied at the University of Freiburg in Germany and St. Clare's College, Oxford, where she fell under the spell of the British Isles. In 2019 Connie won the IPPY Gold Medal for Mystery and was a finalist for the Agatha Award’s Best Debut. She’s a member of Mystery Writers of America and is on the board of the Guppies and her local Sisters in Crime chapter. Besides reading and writing mysteries, Connie loves history, foreign travel, cute animals, and all things British. She lives in Ohio with her husband and adorable Shih Tzu, Emmie. You can learn more about Connie and her books at her website www.connieberry.com.

Praise For…


Praise for The Art of Betrayal:
“[A] traditional mystery that combines British legend with a contemporary story of crime and betrayal.”
Library Journal, starred review

“A delight for lovers of antiques and complicated mysteries with a touch of romance."
—Kirkus Reviews

"An engaging cast of characters that will appeal to fans of Jane K. Cleland’s Josie Prescott novels and Barbara Allan’s Trash ’n’ Treasures mysteries."
—Booklist

“Kate is a well-written character . . . [and] the small English town enhances the story.”
—Red Carpet Crash

The Art of Betrayal is a magnificent book in the finest tradition of English countryside mysteries.”
Gumshoe Review

“Readers will be counting the days until the next installment in this series.”
—Cozy Mystery Book Reviews

Praise for the Kate Hamilton mysteries:
“A modern day Outlander."   
—Hank Phillippi Ryan, USA Today bestselling author

“Grabbed my attention from the start and didn’t let up."
—Bailey Cates, New York Times bestselling author 

“Deliciously atmospheric and beautifully written."
—Peg Cochran, USA Today bestselling author

“As satisfying as a full Scottish breakfast, entertaining as a highland fling, and mysterious as the Loch Ness monster."
—Sherry Harris, Agatha Award-nominated author 

"Masterfully plotted with compelling characters and a setting rich in history."
—Gretchen Archer, bestselling author

“A Scottish delight that will keep you on your toes.”
—Carlene O’Connor, USA Today bestselling author

“An unforgettable, heart-pounding mystery in the windswept Scottish Isles.”
—Duffy Brown, national bestselling author

“Atmosphere, suspense, a cracking-good mystery, and characters I want to meet again soon.” 
—Molly MacRae, national bestselling author 

“Suspenseful layers of intrigue and intelligent characters.”
—Hannah Reed, national bestselling author 
 
“I was caught from the first page."
—Fran Stewart, award-winning author 

“The fascinating antiques lore is woven seamlessly into the story.”
—Jane Cleland, award-winning author 

“Will appeal to readers of Paige Shelton...and Jane Cleland.”
Library Journal starred review, Debut of the Month

"Historic settings, antiquing tips, and a surprising motive."
Kirkus Reviews

"A well-realized cast and a beautifully described setting."
Booklist

“Suspenseful [and] elegantly written."
Publishers Weekly

"A delightful myster."
Tulsa Book Review
 
“A deftly crafted mystery by a master of the genre.”
Midwest Book Review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643855943
ISBN-10: 1643855948
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: June 8th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Kate Hamilton Mystery