Meet the Lithographer (Hardcover)

Meet the Lithographer By Gaby Bazin, Vineet Lal (Translated by) Cover Image
By Gaby Bazin, Vineet Lal (Translated by)
$19.95
Currently Not Available In Store - Usually Available for Shipping, In-Store Pickup, or Curbside Pickup in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Iggy Peck, Architect and the Little People, BIG DREAMS series, this is the first children’s art book to spotlight the fascinating world of lithography—exploring the techniques that make it work, and revealing the secrets behind this truly artistic profession.

Combining science, art, and history, Meet the Lithographer showcases a centuries-old printing practice that evolved into the process used today to print books, magazines, newspapers, and posters. This enchanting behind-the-scenes tour of the lithographer’s workshop offers an inside look at the tools, techniques, and stories that define lithography.

The second children’s book from David Zwirner Books, Meet the Lithographer continues our mission to illuminate different elements of the art industry. The playful illustrations, printed in three striking colors, offer a unique experience of the printed medium and showcase the magic of the lithographer’s world.

About the Author


Gaby Bazin was born in 1992 and grew up on the Mediterranean coast. She graduated from the Arts Décoratifs de Paris (Printed Image Department) in 2015. After traveling to Italy and the Czech Republic to learn typographical printing and bookbinding, she settled in Saint-Denis. She has been working there, within the collective La Briche Foraine, since 2015. Her work explores the richness of printing and its history. The question of the relationship between the written word and the image is the guiding thread of her practice.

Vineet Lal is a literary translator working from French to English. He has translated several well-known French authors, including Guillaume Musso, Michel Bussi, and Grégoire Delacourt, along with a number of books for younger readers. He studied French at Princeton University and the University of Edinburgh, and lives in Scotland.

Praise For…


"Flipping through the hardcover’s 40 pages is like getting a personal tour of one artist’s workshop"
— domino

"Here's a first: a children's picture book about lithography. Once toddlers have wrapped their tongues around that tricky 11-letter word, they will be charmed by Gaby Bazin's beautiful guide to this often overlooked craft. We meet the father of the artform, Alois Senefelder (looking frazzled, right), an 18th-century actor and engraver who experimented with stone-cutting, and learn how later artists have followed in his footsteps."
— The Daily Telegraph
Product Details
ISBN: 9781644231104
ISBN-10: 1644231107
Publisher: David Zwirner Books
Publication Date: July 18th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English