Pulitzer Finalist Lee Martin In Conversation with journalist and crime novelist Andrew Welsh-Huggins

Wednesday, September 2, 2020 - 7:00pm
Bexley,

Join Pulitzer finalist Lee Martin in conversation with journalist and crime novelist Andrew Welsh-Huggins to learn more about his sixth novel, Yours, Jean.
The event will be live streamed on Facebook, with participants able to ask questions of Martin during the latter portion of the program. Ohio State’s Creative Writing Program, Bexley Public Library, and Buckeye Crime Writers are Gramercy’s Community Partners for this author evening.

Lawrenceville, Illinois, 1952: Jean De Belle, the new high school librarian, is eager to begin the next phase of her young life after breaking off her engagement to Charlie Camplain. She has no way of knowing that in a few short hours, Charlie will arrive at the school, intent on convincing her to take back his ring. What happens next will reverberate through the lives of everyone who crossed paths with Charlie and Jean: the hotel clerk who called him a cab, the high school boy who became his getaway driver, and the English teacher who was Jean's landlady, her confidant, and perhaps more.

Based on a true crime and ideal for readers of The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers and Elizabeth Strout's beloved Anything Is Possible, Pulitzer Prize finalist Lee Martin's Yours, Jean is a powerful novel about small town manners and the loneliness that drives people to do things they never imagined. 

Lee Martin is the author of five additional novels, three memoirs, two short story collections, and a craft book for writers. The Bright Forever was a finalist for the 2006 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction. His fiction and nonfiction have appeared in many prestigious publications, including The Best American Mystery Stories, and The Best American Essays. Many of his short stories have appeared in literary journals such as Glimmer Train, The Southern Review, The Georgia Review and The Kenyon Review. Martin is the winner of the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction and of fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Ohio Arts Council. He teaches in the MFA Program at The Ohio State University.

Andrew Welsh-Huggins, an editor and reporter for the Associated Press in Columbus, is the author of nonfiction books on the death penalty and terrorism, and six novels about private eye Andy Hayes, an ex-Ohio State and Cleveland Browns quarterback turned investigator. Welsh-Huggins's short story "The Murderous Type" won the 2017 Al Blanchard Award for best New England short crime fiction.